A-max for hunting?

luke

Has anyone used A-max bullets for hunting? I am kinda new to long range hunting and cant seem to find any info on this. Hornady claims they are ok for thin skinned big game. Just wondering what others have heard or experienced with these. anything would help. thanks

I haven't used them myself, but I've talked to many who have and the consensus is that at lower velocities they perform well - so you'd want to use them in situations where bullet velocity at impact isn't too fast (like under maybe 2,500 fps). The only times I've heard they didn't perform too well was in closeup shots when the bullet is going so fast that it comes apart before enough penetration.

I killed an elk this year at 791yds. with a 208 Amax travelling 2850fps from 300WM. I hit him in the lungs, although it didn't drop him, he never took a step, after a few seconds he just laid down an expired. Bullet did not exit but caused massive damage to the lungs. I inquired alot about the Amax for hunting before trying them, all had good things to say about them, and I will continue useing them. Just remember shot placement is the most important issue with any bullet, if your not sure you can place the shot your probable beyond your max range, and shouldn't take the shot.

thanks for the info. I have shot alot from 400 to 900 yards and am confident with my shooting. I tried to get a load worked for the 168gr berger hunting vld in my 7mmRM but after 2 boxes my best group at 200 yards is around 3 inches. But the A-maxes consistantly shoot half to three quaurters of an inch at 200. What would be an effective elk range? The bullets are 162gr a-max leaving the barrel at a chronoed 3156 fps. Should i just use this set up for long range deer and use my ulta mag for elk? My 300 rum shoots 210gr bergers at a chronoed 3114 and shoots a half inch @ 200. But this rifle kicks as i dont have a break on it yet.