7mm Rem Mag Reloading

aaronw06

Hey guys, I have been a long time lurker and the advice/information on this site is awesome.

Right now I am currently working with 162 ELD-X and 7977 powder, I haven't really seen anything specific to this scenario so I figured I would ask.

I shot a ladder test the other day starting at the IMR Starting Loads ( 64.0gr) and finishing with Max Load ( 69.5gr) .
The tightest group actually was found at max load with a center to center of 1.3" @ 200yrds with no pressure signs. This ladder was tested with Remington Brass, CCI 250 Mag Primers and .020 from lands.

What would you recommend as the next step, adjust seating depth? If so how large of intervals would you use? I am pretty new at reloading and to the ELD-X bullet. I know my gun loved the off the shelf precision hunter 162.
My ultimate goal is to shoot up to 1,000 yrds but also use this round as my hunting round during deer season. I necessarily do not need to take deer at 800 yrds.

Currently the gun is setup as a Remington 700 ADL, 26" (sport )barrel, JP muzzle brake, trigger at 3lbs and a filled, bedded stock. Right now I am currently using the factory stock until I finish my 300 BLK AR. I filled the voids in the stock, bedded the action and floated the barrel. I am a DIY guy so I know its not as great as an aftermarket chassis but I enjoyed doing it.

Thank you for any advice on this, there is some much information it has started to become overwhelming.

-A-Aron

06, welcome to the forum. 1.3" @ 200 is quite good for the factory rifle you described. Good to hear 7977 is getting used so we can hear the results. Haven't tried the 7mm ELD-X but the BergerVLD responds to seating depth well. Sounds like you have a black plastic stock. If you are looking for more accuracy try an aftermarket stock which when bedded will shrink your groups. Very seldom do two rifles like the same exact load, trying other powders and primers sometimes helps as well. Good luck