7mm rem mag question

Sheephuntr

Live in a small town south of Boise Idaho called M
This is my first year reloading for a 7mag an I've got a question. Am I seeing case head separation??? The load is 66grains of RL26 behind a 168 Berger vld hunting. Winchester brass an federal 215 mag primers.

Attachments

• 47DA3D0A-7DC1-4A39-9552-FA8023693D5C.jpeg
    47DA3D0A-7DC1-4A39-9552-FA8023693D5C.jpeg
    470.3 KB · Views: 744
Like Herringbone, I run 68.5 grains of RL 26 with168 Bergers 215 match primers and Norma brass. No problems and 3085 fps velocity. I have only had one case head separation in 45 years of reloading and it was a Winchester case.( 375 H&H and hot load of WW760 30 yr ago and I probably over-bumped the neck of the reload not knowing any better). I always try to use Lapua or Norma brass. Peterson and ADG seem to get great reviews but I don't have any experience with them. Your photos don't show anything out of the ordinary except maybe your chamber isn't highly polished.

7Bean:RL26.jpeg

Last edited:
How do I go about checking headspace? What I am seeing on the cases in the picture is exactly what I'm seeing on the 68grain load
If your not up to speed on headspace, don't shoot any reloads in this lot you may currently have.
Go borrow or buy a headspace comparator. Hornady makes one, there are others.
Attach this to your caliper and measure fully fire-formed brass according to
directions. Then measure brass you have full length sized.
Ideally, you should only bump the shoulders back in your brass by .002-.003. Make sure you use the correct number bushing for the 7mm Remington mag chamber you have.
Ton of info online for this.
All your other empty brass you have full length sized, or if loaded, should probably be unloaded.
Use a straightened paper clip to feel for a groove forming near the head where they are separating on the others.
You don't have a pressure issue if case heads are separating due to over bumping the shoulders.