7 RM 180 Hybrid Help

IAHNTR

I want to preface this post with I'm pretty new at this and this is the first time I've "worked up a load" for a LR rifle. I would like some opinions on where to go from here. Thanks

Here is my ladder test. Some of the higher charges I shot 2 rounds and averaged.
- Based on the Ladder I loaded up 6 rounds each at 68.0, 68.6 and 69.6 grains to see what they did for vertical dispersion. 2 targets only show 5 rounds cause I had to use 1 as a sighter.
- I used the Magnetospeed 3 for velocities and ES. I find it strange that the lowest ES gave me the greatest vertical spread.
- All rounds were seated 0.020 off lands.

Attachments

• Ladder Test.jpg
    Ladder Test.jpg
    40.9 KB · Views: 138
  • 68.0 gr.jpg
    68.0 gr.jpg
    47.6 KB · Views: 132
  • 68.6 gr..jpg
    68.6 gr..jpg
    45.4 KB · Views: 122
  • 69.6 gr..jpg
    69.6 gr..jpg
    62.3 KB · Views: 146
I think what you are seeing us one of the most frustrating aspects of load development, and that is the collision of small sample size and the science of statistics.

Looking at the load with the best vertical...was the ES caused by just one shot or were the velocities evenly distributed across the range?

No offense but at 555 it is very possible for the shooter to account for a little of the vertical, and if that isn't frustrating enough, you can induce errors opposite the error caused by the velocity which can really throw you off on your analysis. Don't forget wind effects, I'm guessing it is pretty flat in Iowa but here in ky I have seen some vertical wind effects from wind flowing upslope and down slope and of course there is a small vertical wind effect caused by the horizontal component of wind.