6.5 x 55

curry792

how would the 6.5 x 55 do one white tail. may also use for coyote hunting long range.saw a cz 550 with full stock i realy like. anyone know if it would be a good gun or not.thanks

Perfect for deer. I've been using one for many years and have never had a deer go more than 20-30 yards. I also load 80 Sierra HP's for prairie dog shooting and have taken a few coyotes with it. The CZ is a sweet littl rifle.

For target shooting, you can get to excess of 1000 yards, even over 1200 yards. At least if you have more than 24" barrel.

Do you reload?

great round, extremely accurate. I've killed, antelope,deer,elk,coyotes, etc. with mine . It's one of the original long range target rounds.

With the proper twist in the barrel, 8 to 8.5 twist you can shoot the long 140 to 142 gr bullets and really reach out there like has been said. I have killed deer out to a little over 300 yards with 120 Nosler BT and Sierra SP bullets in my sporter 96 Swede Mauser. I left the 29" barrel on it and with under 46,000 CUP loads for it I get 3000 fps with 120 and 2850 fps with 140 gr bullets. One of the 4350 powders, I like Accurate Arms, will make it move and be really accurate. With the rifle you mentioned you can load it up to higher pressure than for the 96 Mauser. The 100 gr Sierra HP is a BOMB on varmints. It will red mist one and scatter pieces. With the 130 Nosler Accubond or the 140 Partition Elk size game are in the picture also.

thanks for the input . the cz 550fs only has a 20 inch barrel but think i still may give it a try.i like the short barrels.

What's the twist rate? If it's 1-8 or 1-8.5 you can shoot the 140 class bullets . Try reloader 17, you will be very happy with the velocity numbers.

It would seem strange to think a 260 or Creedmoor is good for long range targets or Deer but the Swede would not be when you look at powder cap. & in modern guns.