6.5 × 55 best powder for 129gr. bullets

Ralph Rupple

Hi, everybody I just bought a rem.700 in 6.5x55 swede. Looking for modern load data and powder recommend by you guys. Don't know a whole lot about the caliber, but from what I've read seems to be a deer slayer.gun)

Ralph, I feel your pain. I use the nosler manual as it does the best job for the swede. It doesn't list the 129gr but I'm sure you'll find it useful.
If all else fails, start low and work up.

Yeah I have the nosler manual but with so many old Mauser rifles still in use both nosler and Hornaday list loads on the lite side. I wonder if I could use 260rem load data as a starting point and work up, but I'm a rookie reloader and I'm not sure that's a good idea. What I Really need is someone to recommend a good powder I have Imr 4831, h414, Imr 4350, A4350, Imr 8208xbr. Just need to know we're to start. I'm not dead set on 129 gr's either I'm open for info on 140's.

I assume that your Remington has a 24" barrel. I have had great success with Accurate 4350 which you state that you have. I have the Accurate manual and it list loads that are 51,000 PSI which is the same as factory Norma ammo which the Scandinavians have used in small ring Mausers for 100 years. With the listed max loads with the A4350 you can't get much if any more of it in the case. I use 46 grs A4350 with 120 ballistic tip and Sierra Sp and I get 3000 fps out of my 29" barrel on my sported Mauser 96. I use 45 grs of A4350 with Hornady and Sierra 140 gr SP and get 2800 fps. Both loads with all bullets shoots under 1/2" at 100 yards and either load kills deer like lightening has struck them. I use Remington cases and Fed. 210Match primers.
The Accurate manual uses a 24" barrel to do their work up and they state that with the 129 Hornady bullet 46 grs A4350 does 2753 fps.

That's what I needed to hear thanks man I appreciate the information, this is the reason I love this site somebody gonna know something