375??

darrindlh

So I have a wild hair to see what I can produce. I want to build a 375 ruger with a 27in-28in barrel. I am looking to shoot the cutting edge 300 grn bullet with a .750 bc. What kind of velocity can i expect

Darrin

375 RUM 2750
375 CheyTac 3050

According to QL but you leave to many variables.

My Edge runs 300 SMKs to 2850 all day long.
A 375 with a 28+ tube on it should be able to clip 2850 without question with most 300 gr stuff. That's a SHOULD BE don't take my word for it, just thinking out loud, usually increasing bore size with the same weight will yield a velocity increase.
Just MHO I have no experience with that bullet nor did I model the data, just an observation.

So I have a wild hair to see what I can produce. I want to build a 375 ruger with a 27in-28in barrel. I am looking to shoot the cutting edge 300 grn bullet with a .750 bc. What kind of velocity can i expect

Darrin

I am able to push the CE 300 MTH to 2800+ from a 375 H&H with a 25" barrel, using RL-17, though best accuracy is around 2780.

The Ruger has slightly more capacity than the H&H. With a powder like Norma MRP or RL-22, you should be able to push the same bullet to somewhere between 2850 and 2880 from a 28" barrel.

If you decide to do a .375 build, do yourself a favor and go with, at least, a 1/10 twist. That should allow you to use bullets like the upcoming Berger Hybrid when it is released.

Thank you for the replies. If I was able to get 2850 with a 28 in tube that would be amazing. 300 grn bullet with a .750 CB. Awesome. I wish that others would
Think outside the box on this 375 Ruger. There are no builds on it. Guys are shooting 2650 out of a 22 in barrel. I am all about shooting a rifle that most people would tell me that it can not be done. We shall see

Darrin

I believe it would be worthwhile for you to carefully consider what you want your rifle to do and work backwards from there in planning your build.