300 WSM build ?'s

jdg33

I have a factory 700 LSS in 300 WSM that does not shoot well, avg 2MOA, but feeds and functions well. So last month I ordered a Broughton 5c 1 in 10 3 contour and it should be arriving soon. I want to have it chambered in 300 WSM and cut to 24" and make it my go to all around hunting rifle. I'm new to the long range thing but would like this rifle to perform out to 600+ but still be relatively lightweight. I'm thinking about shooting 200g AB's or 210 VLD's and I'm hoping for consistancy under 1 MOA, preferably 1/2 MOA. So here come the questions:

1. What kind of work should I have done to the action? I plan to have the receiver face squared and the lugs lapped. Is that enough?

2. Should I buy an aftermarket recoil lug and if so which one?

3. Should I specify anything specific for the throat? I want to feed from the standard rem box.

4. I have a bell and carlson stock that came off of a new Alaskan Ti rifle. It has aluminum pillars. I would like to use this stock if possible and just float the barrel and bed around the lug and tang. Would this work or should I get a different stock.

5. I live in eastern Idaho but I'm in Utah a lot on the weekends. Does anyone know of a good gunsmith near me. I'm thinking about sending it to John King in Montana.

Thanks,
Burleyboy

since you already have a barrel in route then I'd say go ahead and have it installed and strat with a good base.

As for what to have done? well as long as the smith has the action their and apart you may as well eliminate as many variables as possible and have the action blueprinted this is gonna run around $175 give or take and is argueably a waste of time depending on who you talk to , personaly its money well spend to ensure all is well and one less thing to worry about.