300 RUM to 7MM RUM

joelbiltz

How hard or what steps would it take to neck down nosler 300 rum to 7mm rum is it a easiy process. I have been reloading for about 7 years but have never done anything like this. Would it be to just run the 300 in a 7 mm die or is it more complicated than this. Thanks in advanced. Joel

Most likely, you will have to turn down the necks some. If you are shooting a factory rifle, you may be ok. I have necked down some 308 LC NM brass down to 708 and they feed and work fine out of a factory 708.

joelbiltz,
to the best of my knowledge all you need to do is run it in your full length sizing die. Make sure the cases are lubed sufficeintly. I have never taken the 300 ultra down to 7mm ultra and would have tried it for you but I only have a Redding type S bushing die for the ultra. I have taken .308 down to .708 in one step without a problem. As far as neck thickness my Nosler 300 ultra case necks are .004 thinner than the 7mm ultra so there will not be a problem as far neck thickness. If you would like I could send you one of my Nosler 300 ultra cases and you could try it.
FWIW,
308nate

Joel,i've sized 300 rem brass down to 7 and had no problems.my neck was 319 and didn't have to turn any off the necks.

308, how does the neck wall thickness of your nosler brass compare to the Rem if you don't mind me asking?

I've been doing it since before 7mmRUM brass was offered - it's a one step deal. Lube appropriately, F/L re-size, & load. The original chamber had plenty of neck space with Remington brass. No need to neck turn in most instances. As always, check yours to ensure proper fit. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif