260 Remington OAL

bower4311

I'm new to reloading. I have a Savage 11 in .260 and started right off with reloading, I'm 20 years old. I'm seating the bullets at 2.800" OAL. How can I know if I should be seating them further or shorter for increasing accuracy? I have a good gunsmith I work with, but wanted to get some opinions here. I don't know a lot about the lands and where it meets the rifling. I'm using Hornady A-max 140's, if that makes a difference.

Thanks.

I'm new to reloading. I have a Savage 11 in .260 and started right off with reloading, I'm 20 years old. I'm seating the bullets at 2.800" OAL. How can I know if I should be seating them further or shorter for increasing accuracy? I have a good gunsmith I work with, but wanted to get some opinions here. I don't know a lot about the lands and where it meets the rifling. I'm using Hornady A-max 140's, if that makes a difference.

Thanks.

If your using 140 amax's and your oal is 2.8 you probably need to seat the bullets further out.

Im running 140gr amax's 2.97. If the AI mag would hold longer I would go longer.

The only way im aware of to be certain if its a more accurate load is to try it and see what happens

Do I have any safety issues to worry about? Ways to check to make sure I won't stick one in the gun?

Make a dummy round, seat a bullet then pull it (this will lossen the neck a little) then seat a bullet long and close the bolt. The bullet should push back into the case and still just touch the lands. Then double check length to see if it will fit in your magazine. You may have to seat the bullet and pull several times to loosen the neck tension.
As always start low and work up load, don't just start at max powder load.