25 PRC - 100 - 115gr

Closetohome

Kicking around the idea of having a 25 PRC reamer setup to run mainly the 101gr Barnes LRX. On a Win 70 short action I could easily keep OAL inside a mag box I think and Quickload says 3500fps+ is achievable with N560/RL26 which would be creeping up on WBY territory.

I know the 131-135gr high BC bullets are what everyone sets up but realistically I don't shoot over 500yds and looking at the numbers I am not giving up much to the higher BC bullets inside 500.

I bought cases/dies/bullets and going to setup a few dummies to see what they look like. Has anyone every tried it?

I just started shooting my 25 PRC. But I am primarily going to use the 134/135 bullets. I did load some 117 Hornady Btsp that I had, just to get some rounds on the barrel and brass. If I were to use mono's I would try Hammers first, they have shot better than Barnes in every rifle I have tried them in.

Kicking around the idea of having a 25 PRC reamer setup to run mainly the 101gr Barnes LRX. On a Win 70 short action I could easily keep OAL inside a mag box I think and Quickload says 3500fps+ is achievable with N560/RL26 which would be creeping up on WBY territory.

I know the 131-135gr high BC bullets are what everyone sets up but realistically I don't shoot over 500yds and looking at the numbers I am not giving up much to the higher BC bullets inside 500.

I bought cases/dies/bullets and going to setup a few dummies to see what they look like. Has anyone every tried it?
I shoot 145 BH out of my .257 WBY. Do not let anyone, including myself, talk you out of your original plan. Good luck and have fun with it.

We've done the 6.5 Sherman imp version and people will be bushing down our dies soon for the 25. The 6.5 gained an average of over 100' in a side by side test with a std prc in identical rifles. EX: 6.5 PRC/SI at 3144 with 144 hybrid and 3045 with 156 EOL with 22" barrels.