243win vs 6mm rem vs 25-06

well guys, i'm being challenged with a very interesting decision. i found a 6mm at a local gun store and my best friend is trying to sell me a 25-06. as u could probably guess, i'm using a .243win right now and i'm wondering if i should change calibers. i'm new to this so i am open to all suggestions. neither of the two other rifles have scopes but i can keep my currrent scope to move it over to the other rifle if need be. thanks for the help

The 6mm has a very slight ballistic edge over the 243, according to most of the debates & loading manuals I have read about it. The move from a 243 Win to a 6mm Rem would be a lateral move at best. It is my understanding that, in factory rifles, the 243 has a 1:10" twist barrel & the rifles labeled 6mm have a 1:9" twist. If the barrel is labeled as 244 Rem it may have a 1:12" twist & will not stabilize heavy bullets. Certain heavier bullets such as the 105gr HDY A-max require the 1:9" to stabilize. If you load your own bullets you might see a difference between them, but if you shoot factory loaded ammo only I don't think you will see much difference.
The 25-06 is a cartridge based on the 30-06 case. Compared to the 243 Win which is based on the 308 case. You will have more powder capacity & the bullets will be the next size up in diameter & weight options. You can still use the 25-06 for varmint & big game duty.
In short all 3 are excellent choices & if you handload your own ammo they can be used to hunt almost anything.
I hope this helps.
I have 2 6mm's & 1 243 myself & I enjoy them very much. I am still lookng for my first 25-06.

if you like your .243 keep it! i mainly use a .25-06 classic with a 100smk to 500yds.i have a .243 win featherweight also,the 06 moves me off tgt on grounghogs every shot and has no better B.C. bullet choices.burns 10gr+ gr more powder.i dont think any hog or deer ever noticed any difference.when this 25-06 burns up,i will be moving it to the 6mm cal...get a 6br....