243. Win first time loading

matt_3479

Hey everyone. I am still new to reloading and have only done it for 300. Winny. Tomorrow I'm going start load development for my 243. Win as well. I'm going try berger 105 grains and new some help with data.

Everyone seems to like h-4350 for powder but was curious if there was anything else that is recommend. I have RL-22 as well I was going give a whirl. Any help or suggestions on the 105 load data would be greatly appreciated

For starters if you do not have a 1:8-8.5" twist 24" barrel don't even bother with the 105 Bergers, if its a remington barrel with a 9.125" twist the only 105 you may stabilize is the amax. Personally H4831 is the fastest powder I would use, I like a stout charge of H1000 with a CCI250 or a stouter charge of Retumbo with a 215M and the bullet jammed. RL22 is ok as it is right there with H4831 but RL22 is horrible temperature swings and is inconsistant as hell from lot to lot.

make sure you know your twist on the barrel. 105 grain bullets will perform best on a 1-8 twist. And I use 40.5 gr. of H4831SC powder.

Matt- what rifle/scope?? lapua brass, 210m and any number of powders ; I4064, varget, h-4350, h-1000.

I have a remington 700 chambered in 243. Win. Started barrel and rifling of 1:9 1/4 so I don't think I'll stabilize the 105's. I have seen the odd guy been able too and was hoping for it! I might give them a tr still. I aslso have the 87 gr vmax I'm excited to try. Matching the bc of the 90 Bergers yet a 1/3 of the price :p

I am waiting for more powder and primers to come into my shop, but right now I have RL-17 and 22 to try using. 87 grain vmax, waiting on some fed primers so stuck with Winchester primers.

Load suggestions for the 87 would be great! Or any loads using these powders

My Savage was a 26" 1:9.25 and while the 95gr Bergers did go through the target point first, not sideways, the group sizes sucked. 105's at my altitude (1000ft asl) would of course be totally out the question.