.222, .221, .223?

rolltide

Hey guys,

This isn't truly long range, but I need a short range varmint rifle for out to 300-350 max. I will be using it for everything from groundhogs to crows to the occasional spring gobbler thats hung up out of range on the last day of season, like last year.

Several friends have older .222s and I have had a few .223s over the years, but never really fell in love with it. I have no experience with the .221 I have longer ranges covered but wanted something smaller that won't tear up as much of a gobbler, should I get the chance.

I'm hoping you guys will have some insight I haven't thought about. The only reason I haven't just bought a .222 is that I haven't found anything I like. My dad has an older Rem 700 BDL Varmint and my uncle has an old Rem 700 BDL. I'd love to have an older varmint model like dads, but sadly they are few and far between.

Any suggestions on rifles would be appreciated too. I've thought about another CZ or maybe a Kimber or Cooper. I seem to be struggling with this more than I should be.

Thanks in advance for the help,

Chris

For that range I would say look at either the 223 or 204 Ruger. The 221 and 222 will get that far in good conditions but the first two I mentioned will do better.

Rifle choice should be simply what you prefer personally.

Kirby Allen(50)

I shoot a 222 but it is hard to argue against a 223! I personally would not consider a 221 FB. Soon my 222 will be shot out and I am leaning towards the 204??

Whatever decision you make it will not be the wrong one.

My vote is the 223 I have owned the 427 CZ and a couple others . I presently own a Tikka con't varmint with a 26 inch barrel. Its a real shooter and I have shot out to 400 on a calm day and 300-340 or so every day weather. I can get around 3500fps with benchmark and H335 It is a reloaders dream it is easy to load for and very cost effective.You can get lapua brass and it is somewhat affordable.