2 new hunters, 2 new gut piles

grit

I've been encouraging my family to hunt with me for several years. This year I had a bit of success. My father, brother, and brother in law decided to hunt with me. We've had a great time getting rifles, gear, shooting, and scouting.

My brother in law is first because he had only monday off to hunt. Adam is the manager of an about to open department store. Sunday afternoon found Adam and I glassing from one of my spots. Adams tag said "spike only" elk. We spotted a herd immediately. A quick look at the map determined the elk were two miles away. We picked a bald spot on a ridge a half mile from the elk to shoot from. After a hard hike we reached our shooting spot just barely too late. In the fading light, we just couldn't pick out a spike.

Five a m found us strapping on backpacks and heading out for our ridge. The hike in the frosty dark was exciting as several bugles broke the stillness. Reaching our ridge we waited on the backside to catch our breath and let it lighten enough to turn off the flashlights. After catching our breath we crept over the ridge. Setting up in the pre dawn grey, it took only a few minutes to spot elk on the distant hillside. They were there!

Half an hour passed as the elk fed in and out of the brush and it got light enough to tell if any were spikes. Suddenly, a new brown form was moving down to join the herd. As he stepped into the open I could see he was a spike. I relayed the info to Adam. A few moments passed as Adam got on the spike and prepared to shoot. I had already ranged the elk, and Adam had already dialed for the range. No wind.