Wind or parallax

Nimrod

I am brand new at this game so please be gentle!

I was shooting paper yesterday double checking my loads and had some horizontal dispersion. I had some wind but it was mostly from behind and light, the mirage was strait up but I had a little movement in the weeds telling me otherwise. I didn't bother checking my meter but the wind couldn't have been any more than 5 mph. with even less crosswind. I was shooting at 500 yards and would have shot my first ever .5 MOA 500 yard group had it not been for the horizontal.

I was shooting a .25/06, 115 grain Nosler Ballistic tip at right at 3100fps. average, temp was a balmy 100 degrees and I was shooting off my pack in preparation for a pronghorn hunt this fall.

My group measured 3.456 horizontally but only .686 vertically.

I could see no discernible parallax in the scope but the mirage was pretty bad. So what do you think? Was it wind, parallax or shooter error? Should I just ignore it and move on?

Thanks!
Bob

Having shot quite a bit in the Ozarks this time of year and knowing what the typical mirage is like, I say you did good. Look for a morning, evening or overcast day and shoot again.

Jeff

Having shot quite a bit in the Ozarks this time of year and knowing what the typical mirage is like, I say you did good. Look for a morning, evening or overcast day and shoot again.

Jeff
Yep. High temps, high humidity can create a hell of a mess with mirage.

I'll ditto Broz's statement in that "you dunn good".

Without knowing more about your set up it would be hard to even guess beyond the mirage which could frankly be the whole issue.

My comment is, it don't have to be sub MOA to be a kill. It's an animal not paper.

Just don'r shoot the first thing that looks 'good'. Patience usualy has a nice reward.

Thanks for the responses!