Who's using The Mildot Reticles

My "go to" rifle (an SPS Tactical 308) has a Leupold Mark 2 6-18x40mm AO scope with a mil-dot reticle on it.

Its a neat little setup...freaky accurate.

I use two 3 - 18X 42mm IOR SFP with MP-8, just like yours.

Also a 4.5-14X 44mm Zeiss Conquest Mil-dot with target turrets.

I'm useing 3 6x24 IOR set @ 18x and a 3-18 set @ 18 so the hash marks are MOA instead of ½mills. The 2 fixed IOR 16x's I have to set the drop charts up in ½ mil but they are on guns that have very close trajectories. Have a Sightron 3-9 mildot on my calling gun in 223 and a Tasco 3-9 on my 22lr.
Once the guns are zeroed the dials never get touched, drop charts are worked up for every dot or hash and holdover is figured out from there.
Works fer me as I dropped my goat on Wensday @ 455yards and a mulie on Thursday @ 619:cool:

I have a 6-18x Nikon Buckmasters MD on a 17 MIV XP-100 handgun that i use for prairie dog shooting. I have windage calcd for 18x (2.4 inch per hudred yds. subtension between dots and basically a 1/2" dot at that power). I run turret for elevation.

I also use an 8.5-25x Leup. TMR on a 6.5 WSM XP-100 handgun (love the .2 mil. line stadia for rangefinding but don't use it much for that in the field).

Are you guys using the mil's and doing all the caculations? Or just using the dots as hold over dots? For big game hunting I prefer a hold over reticle like the Zeiss Rapid Z or another one of the hold over reticles.... Zeiss has one for 600 & 800 yards... the 600 matches up with standard cartridges and the 800 for magnum cartridges. Give me a laser rangefinder, an accurate rifle, a solid rest and no wind and we're in business! NJS P.S. Don't forget to practice too...