Which reloading kit?

wyatt earp

I am new to reloading and have a couple of questions. I have done some reading on different websites about reloading. Seems most of the places I have found talk about reloading by quantities.

I want to start reloading for long range shooting, anywhere from 50-800+. So I was looking at Cabela's website and they have some different kits you can buy. Are these kits any good? If so which one should I get for perfecting that one load for my .308?

Really what I want to know is what do you recommend for a person new to reloading without an unlimited amount of funds?

Thanks for the help, Wyatt

You get more for your money with the RCBS RockChucker Supreme kit than any of the others. It is all decent equipment and will serve you well. However, I would take another approach; buy individual pieces. It will require study and anticipating your needs, but that is part of its value. You will learn a great deal in the process.

The wild card in putting a process together is the powder system. Your equipment needs will depend on the powders you find best for you, your required level of precision, and your loading quantity. For that reason, you can start with an RCBS 505 or 502 scale, a set of Lee dippers, and a Redding trickler. Later you can determine whether you need a powder measure or an RCBS ChargeMaster Combo. The powder measure would probably be a Redding.

I like Redding presses and would choose one of them over the RCBS. The Forster is popular, but carries a premium price.

A Lee AutoPrime handheld tool would be a good place to start for that function.

You will need a case trimmer, and the Wilson is considered the best of the lathe types. There are several ways to approach this function, and a Lee tool will serve initially if you are uncertain which you would prefer.