What did I do wrong!

yotehunter73

I have shot the same Sendero in 25.06 topped wit a zeiss 4.5X14 for the last 8 years. It has produced some nice groups out to 300 yds. I have taken deer at ranges of 75 yds to 475 yds with this rifle. my hunting buddy and fellow LRH member has encouraged me to stretch it out!. so today I took it to 300 yds where it shot a 1-5/8 3 shot group. I then took it too 500 yds. with the sand bags across the hood of my truck on a wyoming prairie, I settle in for the shot. I squeeze the trigger........the gun jumps and I cant see the hole in the box knowing its 25 or inches lower than my POI or so 2 more shots to follow. not knowing where they hit but feeling good about each shot I went to the target. And found a 7/8 inch group!! thats a .167 MOA! I am shooting a factory rifle with factory HSM 115 Gr. VLD berger bullets. I know there will be disbelievers out there....I may be one of them! Let me end in saying I am not a novice shooter or a novice reloader. I stumbled on HSM ammo and love it!

Attachments

• IMG 500yd 25.06.jpg
    IMG 500yd 25.06.jpg
    73.9 KB · Views: 98
Well you could have spent about 3x as much on a custom rig and thousands of hours putting togther the "perfect load combination". Then you'd feel like all that time and money had gone to a good cause... .:D

When something works this well, I don't question it!gun)

Good Job Ringo!!:)

gun)I knew you could do it. gun)

Buy as much of that ammo as you can, (preferably/hopefully the same lot #).

Test your scope adjustments for tracking accuracy, and you're well on your way.

Glad to see you finally got EJ's 390 yd prarie dog posted up :D I bet if he uses your rifle we can get him into the 500 yd club next time you're out.

Thanks Shane. The challenge will be the repeatability. I cant get out till this weekend so it will a very long week. I will get as much of the ammo as I can find. I questioned the cost of it at first but if its going to shoot that well its worth it.
gun)