What am I doing wrong here!!

Ucsdryder

I'm a newbie reloader, have 500-600 rounds under my belt but having an issue I haven't experienced yet and can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I'm reloading a 6.5 creedmoor and am getting a super tight neck on virgin lapua brass. I'm using Rcbs dies and a Rcbs summit press. I ran the virgin brass through the FL sizing die. It's taking more force than it should to seat the bullet. To the point that the bullet is showing a very slight "ring" where the seating die pushes down on the bullet. I attached a couple of pictures. The pulled bullet has a good scar from the tight neck and then you can see the ring on the other bullet. Is it a FL sizing issue? Seating issue? I am not bumping shoulders on the virgin brass.

Attachments

• E127B38B-D65F-4CBA-B364-872089AF4490.jpeg
    E127B38B-D65F-4CBA-B364-872089AF4490.jpeg
    967.6 KB · Views: 416
  • 255EC5C8-CA8D-4090-9F28-440EA367DE5D.jpeg
    255EC5C8-CA8D-4090-9F28-440EA367DE5D.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 384
Here's a zoomed in picture that shows the ring on the end of the bullet.

Attachments

• 3E149F74-728A-48E8-9B00-4C5E5A9C5278.jpeg
    3E149F74-728A-48E8-9B00-4C5E5A9C5278.jpeg
    137 KB · Views: 197
The ring on the ogive is from a seating steam not made for that type of bullet. Research seating steams.

If you're NOT using a expander mandrel/bushing die then it's the die itself that is setting the neck tension. Do you know what your neck tension is? Most people in a professional setting start with about .002 plus .001 for spring back in neck tension with some guys arguing .004 for gas guns.

Things to research:

Neck tension, and how to measure it.
Brass spring back
When to anneal and why to anneal.
Proper seating stems- on your eld there, nothing beats the ELD seating stem.