Trajectory validation

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by jmason, Sep 30, 2008.

  1. jmason

    jmason Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    If your groups are 1/2-3/4 MOA, how do you validate trajectories? Do you just go with the group centers?
     
  2. Savagebien

    Savagebien Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    thats what i do basicly, its about all i can do it seems like
     

  3. 270fan

    270fan Active Member

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    I CAN'T STAND TO BE DUMB .... so ..... what do you mean trajectory validation?
     
  4. AJ Peacock

    AJ Peacock Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005

    Validating that your drop table matches the actual trajectory of you rifle/load for the conditions.

    AJ
     
  5. Savagebien

    Savagebien Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    there you go
     
  6. jmason

    jmason Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    when your using exbal can you use the trajectory validation function in lieu of chrono readings? My chrono crapped out and I'd like to close the book on my data collecting for exbal.
     
  7. phorwath

    phorwath Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,896
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Precisely. That would be the most scientifically correct method. And the more bullets on target, the greater the confidence that you've established a value close to the true POI at that target range. More data is always better. Problem is it gets expensive and boring after a while. So you just have to run with a quantity of data that suits your confidence requirements and acheives a level of comfort you can live with.
     
  8. Ridge Runner

    Ridge Runner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    987
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    being a hunter more than a shooter, I validate the first cold bore shot, thats the one that matters to me, so most of my tests are done three times. just to be sure I'm right.
    I chrony the cold bore shot, 3-5 days in a row in the conditions that I hunt in, I check my 300,400,500 yard drops with a cold bore shot. I can shoot a 3" group at 850 yards, the cold bore shot is around 1.5" high, the other 2 are within an inch of each other, but the first one is the important one.
    I know what my cold bore velocity is, so that stays the same, I tweak the BC in the program till my chart matches my cold barrel hits. this works for me.
    RR
     
  9. jmason

    jmason Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    thanks guys... I know what my velocity was when it was 50-60 degrees. It's 70-80 now. Right about the time I picked up EXBAL my chrono started flaken out.

    BTW got up at 5:30 this morning to go to the range and wind is about 20 mph! Dang weather man said (yesterday) 0-5 mph winds. I don't recall it being so windy last spring. Seems to me I had a lot of calm days. Really want to get my data collecting done!!


    Guess I start changing the blades on the mower- it just started raining now. the weather mans in trouble if I ever run into him:D
     
  10. silvertip-co

    silvertip-co Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,131
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    I get off the internet and shoot my rifles on the range.