The best of both worlds??????

joshafender

I am fairly new to long range shooting and would like any ones advice on the best caliber rifle for mid size game(200lb whitetail), and 600-1000 yard target rifle. I am sure this has been debated for as long as most can remember but I would like some fresh ideas. I have had my mind on .270 Winchester and I know that sounds crazy to some but it seems like Nosler and Berger have created some .277 bullets with a really good BC. My Remington 700 LA is getting sent off for a makeover in about a month. Whidden Gunworks will be doing the build. I need to tell him what to chamber the rifle. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

27 Nosler:D:D:Dgun)
If your long action has a magnum bolt face. If not, have them open the bolt face to magnum.

I am a weirdo also.:)
I built Fords to go fast when everything fast was a Chevy.
I build Savages instead of Remmy's.
One thing I WILL NOT DO is build a rifle for ONE bullet or even two.
There are 84799893 great 6.5 bullets if the first three you pick don't wanna work.
There are 87709544 great 7mm bullets if the first three you pick don't wanna work.

I was real close to building a 277 of some sort and then a 7mm SAUM barrel came up cheap and stopped me.

I am glad it did.

I have been banging at crap at LR for 30+ yrs and I don't want to deal with some of the issues that can crop up with a OFF caliber like the 25 or 27.

For someone just getting into LRH I would STRONGLY council you to pick something in a more researched and developed caliber. When I have some strange issue crop up it can take a long time and a lot of $$$ to figure out on a REGULAR BORE. Throw in an OFF size AND just starting out and you have a recipe for BALDNESS.

Learn on a good 6.5, 7mm or 30 and wait a bit for the WEIRDO rigs or the 338 and up stuff.