SW Kansas Longe Range Coyote Caller

oneyeopn

Hi--I am from south west Kansas. I love to hunt and fish but we dont have any water so fishing only happens when I go somewhere else. A few years ago when I retired ( I was a german car auto tech and working musician) My dad turned me on to Mauser 98's. I always had firearms but usually only had single shots. I saw some rifles that my Dad had built (with help from the Broken Gun Ranch in Spearville Ks) and just loved them. So I had him take me to his gun dealer and I actually had the opportunity to pick the K98 out from quite a bunch of them. I picked one out that had been arsenal refinished with an exceptional bore. stamped 1934 and Erfurt. I took it out with some surplus 8mm ammo that I bought and found out that it shot exceptionally well and I started from there. I was going to change calibers but after I shot and studied the 8 x 57 round I decided that I would stay with that Caliber. I stripped the rifle from the stock and sent it to the same gunsmith that my Dad uses and told him what I wanted to do with the rifle. It took a few months to get back, meanwhile I picked up a stock from Bell and Carlson (made right down the road) Had a Timney trigger installed, had the action trued and blueprinted the barrel set back and rechambered. A muzzle brake installed and had a Bushnell Banner scope put on it. the final thing was having it redone in Duracoat. Here are some pictures:

After I built the black one, my wife decided that she wanted it so I started building another. It is a K98a with the longer barrel, same situation went and picked out another excellent rifle ($150 each) and started down the same road although this time I used an old weatherby stock.: