Should i moly my bullets

bigrich954rr

I will be getting my 338 whisper in 2 days. Its a custom rifle built by Gap using a surgeon action with a mike rock barrel 5r 6 twist. all BO metal in A5 stock. any ways it will be shooting MK 300 at 1000 fps. I was told to moly the bullets just in case to help so they wont get stuck in the barrel. Cause of the fast twist rate which makes it harder on the bullets. Should i moly the barrel or the bullet or both.

I've had my go-round with moly, and decided it wasn't worth the trouble. Also there was the issue of moly maybe promoting rust in CM barrels. JMHO.
I have no Whisper experience, whatsoever. But, it would seem that if you're getting 1000fps, you're not gonna stick a bullet. Could just be my ignorance showing. I'm gonna hide & watch what others say. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

[ QUOTE ]
I will be getting my 338 whisper in 2 days. Its a custom rifle built by Gap using a surgeon action with a mike rock barrel 5r 6 twist. all BO metal in A5 stock. any ways it will be shooting MK 300 at 1000 fps. I was told to moly the bullets just in case to help so they wont get stuck in the barrel. Cause of the fast twist rate which makes it harder on the bullets. Should i moly the barrel or the bullet or both.

[/ QUOTE ]
A bullet going 1000 fps getting stuck in the barrel is difficult for me to comprehend. I personally do not and would not Molly coat anything.......... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Some do, some don't, I moly both barrel and bullets with a Necco kit. Thought about trying titanium disulfide. They say that it is even higher temp.
db

I think you ment the bullet would be moving faster than 1000fps, right? That sounds pretty slow or is that correct.

Wildcat