Scope mounting for dummies

Greywolf18

I got a really dumb question for everyone. I recently bought a rifle scope with target turrets to put on my AR varmint rifle. My question is, I know all scopes only have so many clicks they can move up/down/left/right, so how do I center the scope when mounting so I use as little amount of clicks as possible? I know you are always going to have to adjust some, but I'm trying to minimize the amount I use for zeroing the rifle to allow the most available clicks for actually shooting. I've never used target turrets before and have always just zeroed the scope at 200 yards and used a best guess for hold over. However, this is a varmint rig and don't want to really do that anymore for long range shots. Thanks for the help!

If the scope is new, the adjustments "should" be centered.

To determine the adjustment center, turn the windage adjustment all the way in either direction. (Be careful/gentle------it is easy to jam some adjustments at the end of the range.)

After stopping at the end of the adjustment range, turn the adjustment all the way in the other direction------count the turns. Then place the adjustment at the middle of the range by turning it back half way. Do the same for the other adjustment and you are done.

Cheers,
Jim

I was referring to when initially mounting it onto the rifle. So once I put it on the rifle and don't have to do 20-30 clicks up/down/left/right to get it zeroed. I know I'll have to click some, but trying to keep it down to minimal.

Since I don't know what mount/rings you are using, I would say be sure you begin with the scope adjustments centered and then use any adjustments of the base or rings to get as close as possible before moving the scope internal adjustments.

If you have a collimator, you can bore sight the scope using the base and/or ring adjustments to get "on paper" before actually shooting the rifle.

Jim

Last edited: