scope magnification ranges

brodiemn27

Howdy, about to start a build on a 300WSM - intended use is long range big game hunting. I am strongly considering the Vortex razor hd gen 1 5-20x50 scope, but I'm curious of what y'all think regarding magnification ranges. I would like to drop game between 500-1000 yards comfortably, but still have a lower end for the thick stuff, which is why I am questioning the 5x low end on this scope.

Bushnell's 3.5-21x50 is a good option in the same price range, but I really like Vortex products and their warranty is unbeatable.

I am relatively new to long range hunting, and this is going to be my first true long range rifle. I want to have optics that give me the ability to really reach out, but would still like to be comfortable on the lower end just for the sake of versatility...

What do y'all think?

Thanks

I use a 5-25X in the woods or in the sage. Never felt handicapped. If you practice on a higher setting like 10X or 12X then hunt on 5X it looks like wide screen tV.

So for shooting out to 1000 yards, 18x will do the job? Partly I like Vortex and their first gen razor is on sale so that is very tempting.
I would love to get the leupold mark 6, but they are quite pricy. I am looking in the 1500ish price range. Also, with such a big caliber I doubt I will do much shooting under 200 so 5x may be just fine. Anyways, new to this so a lot of unknowns having so little experience.

So for shooting out to 1000 yards, 18x will do the job?

Read the parameters wrong, just saw 500 yards. 18x or 12x will work at 1000, but the bigger scopes offer a little more detail. Then I like 20-25X on the high end.

There is the Mark 6, but the VX6 is what I was talking about. It's cheaper and in the price range indicated. Custom BDC available for elevation and windage.

They all give up something!