Scope Levels- Why?

mwkelso

I experimented a bit at the range today (200yds) with scope tilt.
As long as I was doped for zero, only the windage would change as I tilted the scope and shot. However, if I was using holdover, then windage and elevations both changed.

Is this the only importance of using a scope level? Or are there more than these two reasons right here?
(As I wrote that, I'm thinking to myself 'what other reasons are there in a game of consistent accuracy?' 😂)

I suppose I ask from the viewpoint of never having one growing up behind a rifle, but am now blown away at how critical they can be for consistency. Especially at long ranges. How do shooters that don't use them get their weld and muscle memory that consistent?

I never had one until I started shooting long range either. At 200 yards I think the difference is minimal. Whether you dial or holdover you want the scope to go perfectly straight up. If canted to the side even a bit at 1000 yards there is gonna be a difference. How much, I will leave that to someone better at math. I thought the same as you. I was shocked when I first put a level on my scope. Out of curiosity I held the gun comfortable where I would normally hold it with my eyes closed. Then I opened them and looked at the level and it was off a fair amount.

I never had one until I started shooting long range either. At 200 yards I think the difference is minimal. Whether you dial or holdover you want the scope to go perfectly straight up. If canted to the side even a bit at 1000 yards there is gonna be a difference. How much, I will leave that to someone better at math. I thought the same as you. I was shocked when I first put a level on my scope. Out of curiosity I held the gun comfortable where I would normally hold it with my eyes closed. Then I opened them and looked at the level and it was off a fair amount.
I'm glad that I'm in good company with how surprised I was