Scope choice for a 300WM

Mr Ed

Hi all. I'm buying a 300WM Tikka Tactical and would like some advise from distance shooters as to the best scope and why.
I was looking at the Leupold Tactical MK IV 3.5 to 10 x 40 talored for the 300 which you just dial the distance and hold the cross hairs on target (for a given bullet weight at a given velocity). The only problem I have with this is I prefer a larger magnification and wondered if the Leupold Varmint 6.5 to 20 would be better? I'm not very experienced at shooting over long range (out to 1000m) and would appreciate any advice as they cost a sh#* load and I want to get it right first time. Cheers
grin.gif
grin.gif

Edwam
Hi and welcome.
Like you I am just getting started in this long range stuff!
I have an Accurracy International AWM-F chambered in .300 win. mag. I load my own ammunition. I am currently shooting a 190 grain Seirra Match King Hollow Point, using Lapua brass, IMR 4350 powder, and CCI Mag primers. Listed muzzle velocity of my load is 2950 ft. per sec.
The current scope I use is a Leupold Illuminated Long Range M3 3.5-10-40mm.
I am immensely pleased with this set up.
However!!
I am feeling the need to have more magnification...brighter optics and more precise adjustments.
As an aside...there is an interesting thread on this forum, that talks about "accuracy vs. precision". It makes interesting reading and is well written, and demonstrated!!
With that in mind the Leupold LR M3 will have 1 minute clicks of adjustment for elevation.
My experience so far (about 200 rounds fired)!! Once my rifle was sighted in, it was simply...dial the range in on the scope elevation knob...adjust the parallax...fire, and the round went where they were aimed, (point of aim = point of impact) both at 100 yards and 200 yard settings. No other ranges were tried. With the Leupold you can play with the dials all day long, i.e. turn them from stop to stop and they will return to your original zero.