Savage action size

sapper299

I have not been able to nail down what action I can use for a new project.
I want to build a long range rig based on a .338 Remington Ultra Magnum. I have chosen Savage as they tend not to need all the tuning that I have had to do to my Remington. I just need to know if the standard length long action in current production is long enough to handle this round. Savage said no (but the guy I spoke with did not seem to be that swift with technical questions), Sharp Shooter Supply said yes. They dont make a factory rifle in this caliber anymore and the older models are hard to find. So, if anyone can answer this I would appreciate it.

Thanks

The standard long action is the same size as the one they used to build the RUMs. The standard long action mag box is only 3.4" and the RUM/H&H mag box is 3.6".

I am not an expert but I believe you will need to change the magazine, bolt face, and be sure to pick the right barrel shank. The Short mags, and nearly all the Ultra mags are Large Shank. The other long actions are standard shank with the exception of some target actions. Below is a link with pretty good pricing on Shilen/Savage barrels. They give the measurements of each shank.

This page was last updated on

By the way you can send them a dummy round based on your magazine length and preferred bullet and they will throat the barrel to match your specs for no additional cost.

Last edited:
Any long action should work if you are going to use it single shot. But most will be small shank which is fine if you have a small shank barrel. For this reason I am using a short action for my 300RUM build (I already have the barrel). I am pretty sure if I use the CRF bolt face I will be able to pull a live round without pulling the bolt and it will eject a spent round..

Last edited: