savage 200 convert center feed mag to stagered feed

jeb20208

Hi'
I'm new to the form, so any help will be appreciated.
I have two savage 200's in 223 which I had re-barreled and chambered to 30/221 (300 whisper)). The first was an older model with a staggered feed magazine which functions perfectly. The second is the newer model with the center feed mag.This one will not extract the empty case as it falls into the void between the chamber feed ramp and magazine feed lips. In order to eliminate the problem, I believe changing the mag will fix the problem.. Is it possible to change the center feed mag to a staggered feed mag and restock the action with the older type stock which accepts the staggered feed mag? I found the mag and follower assembly at Brownells. Thanks:

It could be done, but not very practically. You're looking at welding and remachining the bottom of the action. I'm guessing your problem could be solved with some tweaking of the ejector and extractor.

You'll have to have the bottom of the newer receiver milled for the slot that attaches the old style magazine to the receiver. It's not really practical.

You need to check to be sure the ejector is operating properly. It sounds like the case is being extracted from the chamber OK but then instead of the ejector throwing it clear it falls into the magazine? Unless the mag lips are somehoe interfering with ejection which whould cause feeding problems too.
If there is any way you can post a picture of the bolt head we can tell you pretty quick if the ejector is in it. Sounds like it's not.

Thanks for the reply. The more I play with it, I think you are on to something. I'm not sure where the ejector is located or how it functions. I did have the extractor changed and it is pulling the case out of the chamber. I will take a picture of the bolt and post it. I appreciate all the replies.
Thanks

This is a Savage bolt head:

savagebolthead.jpg