Rifle Question

ShawnF

Ok, I am sure this question has been asked many times and many ways, but my research in the search feature came up with mixed results, so forgive me if this has been covered numerouse times as I am sure it has. I am searching for a long range hunting rifle. I want to know who is the best custom maker, and who is the best maker for somebody who is starting out? Should I just get a Rem Senderro, and get it accurized? I am planning to save money for this purchase, and scince I want to get one rifle that will last, I don't really care how long it takes to get one. I am very new to long range shooting, but love to hunt.(the longest deer kill I have made is 400 yds) I am moving to Wyoming and want to extend this range out to 1000yds. I currently have the gear to load 7mm rem mag, and want a rifle in this cal. Any advice would be greatly apreciated!

Shawn,

One name for long range hunting rifle: KIRBY ALLEN of Allen Precision Shooting (APS)

You want to talk to Kirby Allen (Fifty on this site). He is your man for your build. Send him a post, and he will help you out. He specializes in long range hunting rifles. He is a very professional gunsmith and has built a ton of long range rifles for guys on this site. Trust me, Kirby builds an awesome rifle.

W.

Shawnf,
I can't answer the part about who can build a rifle for you,I live in Australia,but I can give some advice concerning WHAT to build.
I do this for a living,amongst other things.
You'll want an action of very rigid design if you want it to be super accurate.Remington actions are very good but not necessarily the BEST.
Before you undertake this type of project,it is very important to speak to a few people that have had this done before,and ask them who did it for them,time it took,cost,what they purchased first in regard to action,barrel and stock.A good place to find out this stuff is your local range.