Redding bushing die worth it?

fisherman983

I have a custom 264 win mag, and ive tossed the idea around several times to buy a set of fancy bushing dies.

I'm a newbie to bushing dies and have no idea where to start. How much neck tension do i need? How do i know if it's right or not?

I'm currently using a standard set of rcbs dies. If there is something else I should be using instead I'm up for suggestions as well.

At the Whidden custom die website they tell you they get the most concentric cases using non-bushing full length dies.

With bushing dies when you reduce the neck diameter .004 of more it will induce neck runout. And I think this is why so many reloaders use a Lee collet die. Bushing dies work best with custom tight neck chambers and neck turned brass. And the standard SAAMI chamber will let the case neck expand over .004 and cause the bushing die to induce neck runout.

I prefer Forster benchrest full length dies with the high mounted floating expander that greatly reduces neck runout.

Below I ordered Forster expander and spindle assemblies for all my older RCBS dies. This reduces neck runout, one of the biggest reasons for runout is caused if the expander is locked down off center.

The expander on the left is a RCBS expander raised as high as it will move. On the right is the replacement Forster expander and spindle assembly.

5kfnKwd.jpg

Below the Forster high mounted floating expander, the neck of the case is held and centered in the neck of the die when the expander enters the case neck. And the floating expander stays centered and can not pull the neck off center.

Y7Iyv8o.jpg

Bottom line I get less runout and more concentric cases using the Forster FL dies than using any type bushing die.