Questions for Gunsmiths.

critter

Hello everyone. I have some questions, but first I wanted to say that this forum site is a wealth of knowledge. I have already changed my reloading and shooting habits. This place rocks.
Now as a novice LR hunter and shooter I am still learning about gunsmithing techniques. Can someone please explain (in laymans terms please) the flowing:

#1 bluprinting
#2 truing
#3 accurizing
Thank you guys!
--Critter

Hey Critter, I am not a gunsmith, but I will take a stab at your questions;

1. Blueprinting-I believe this is when the gunsmith make sure that the barrel and action are alligned and matched perfectly togather.

2. Truing-This is when the gunsmith looks at the action and makes sure all things are matched up and alligned, if they are not, he makes the neccessary changes to the Action to make sure that all is well.

3. Accurizing-Baisaclly all things mentioned above including, Bedding the stock, making sure action and barrel fit perfectly in the stock, free floting barrel, crowning barrel.

Like I said, I am not a gunsmith, but I think I am close. I am sure Kirby or Shawn will give a better answer to your questions. I am sure they will give you an answer soon.

Wildcat

Critter,

Wildcat has you on the right track. I always considered truing a lesser and included part of bluprinting. Blueprinting is when you set put to make the action as it was intended to be, square surfaces, threads cut perpendicular to the axis of the bore, mating surfaces even to each other and also in line with the bore axis relation, etc.
Accurizing is some what all inclusive, this can include blueprinting, bedding, barrel floating, trigger tuning, scope base bedding, ring lapping, setting back chambers and rechambering, crowning, etc.

Hope this answers most of your questions. Enjoy the site.

We could write a book explaining what goes into these steps but you have gotten the general idea.