PSE scope on the Elite

Discussion in 'PSE TAC 15/15i Crossbow Hunting Forum' started by Chyhunting, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. Chyhunting

    Chyhunting Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Good morning from "Old Dominion". I am just wondering if everyone is experiencing the same yardages or zeros with there scopes. For instance my first crosshair is zeroed at 20yds , the second crosshair is at 40yds, the third is 60yds. Input from you guys as to what yall are experiencing with your "zeros" is well appreciated. I'm not sure if I should have started a new thread for this question, but it did not seem to fit anywhere else I could find. Thanks
     
  2. gspv

    gspv Member

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    I mainly shoot benchrest. My scopes cost more than the TAC Elite package and are worth every penny.

    So, having put my biases on the table, I wasn't satisfied with the PSE scope.

    I put on a Leupold VX-R 3x9 on using an HHA Optimizer.

    That Optimizer is a great tool to get the most out of a TAC. It is the best answer to your requirement.

    Good scope + HHA Optimizer + laser range finder = happiness
     

  3. Chyhunting

    Chyhunting Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Thanks a bunch! I'm not complaining about the stock equipment, just wondering what everyone else is coming up with, but I will definitely be upping the performance level
     
  4. Twanger

    Twanger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    169
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    The Hawke 2-7x32 that came on mine has a mil-dot reticle.
    When set on 4X and zeroed for 20 yards the first dot down is 30 yards, and the second dot down is 40 yards. I've never shot a live deer past that. I sometimes use the mil dots and sometimes use the Speed Dial when hunting.

    At the Range at long range (over 40 yds) I use the HHA Speed Dial and simply shoot the crosshair.
     
  5. gspv

    gspv Member

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Ah, the downside of using dots on the reticle on a variable with the reticle not in the first focal plane.

    Truly, I've never found it to be a terrible problem.

    I *am* still working on my system for using the Optimizer when hunting.
    1. Set it for 20?
    2. Set it for the longest clear shot.
    3. Force myself to set the distance before the shot no matter what.

    My current thought is combining 1 and 3.
     
  6. Twanger

    Twanger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    169
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Not having a FFP reticle has not hung me up all that much.
    4X is a good scope setting from 20-40 yards.
    Things change fast inside 40, and gap shooting the mil-dots with manual range estimation seems to shorten the kill chain to an acceptible amount of time.
    Beyond 40 yards its ok too, but 7X is usually where I set it, range the target, and then set the speed dial.
     
  7. gspv

    gspv Member

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    The speed and the increased danger of getting busted is why I'm thinking about setting things at 20 and going out from there.

    It might be that I can use the picket of my duplex as a 30. We'll see.

    I'm thinking about a 2-7 or maybe even using a secondary reflex optic the way you see on some of the ARs. I would use a laser for that, but it is agin' the law in Ohio.
     
  8. Twanger

    Twanger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    169
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    With an arrow BC (0.060) computed from chrony measurements by one of the members here I put together this ballistics chart for the Tac15i for zeros of 20, 30, and 40 yards. I have verified this chart at the range.

    You can see from the chart that if you zero your Tac15 at 30 yards (red curve) your arrow will be within +/- 2 inches of point of aim from 0 to 35 yards. Sooooo.... if you really want an easy solution you zero for 30 yards and anything inside 35 yards you can shoot without messing around with ranging and dials.


    [​IMG]