procedure for load develpment

dmax1800

I'm new to reloading and need to know the proper procedure to develop a load. What is the correct order : experimenting with seating depth, experimenting with different powders and experimenting with different bullets. I'm confused. Please help...

I'm new to reloading and need to know the proper procedure to develop a load. What is the correct order : experimenting with seating depth, experimenting with different powders and experimenting with different bullets. I'm confused. Please help...

you'll get as many answers as there are people. I test powder weight first...usually in .4 grain increments because works well for me. once I find a load that has decent accuracy and fits what I need for MV, I start to fiddle with seating depth

I do the exact opposite! I take 2 or 3 bullets and ladder test for seating depth (using one powder/charge weight). I'll narrow down to 1 or 2 bullets at their best OAL, and then I start altering powders and charges.

As stated above, lots of different methods. Play around and see what works for you, just do it in a systematic way.

Good luck!

I pick a bullet and powder ,get the OAL from a load book ,with .308 i work up from low to high in .5 grain steps,i use .3 increments in .223. Usually have 8 to 10 loads in a set ,i would shoot al least two sets at 200+ yards and compare the tagets and you will have a good load when youre done. Then you can fine tune with OAL tuning.

I pick a bullet and powder ,get the OAL from a load book ,with .308 i work up from low to high in .5 grain steps,i use .3 increments in .223. Usually have 8 to 10 loads in a set ,i would shoot al least two sets at 200+ yards and compare the tagets and you will have a good load when youre done. Then you can fine tune with OAL tuning.