Problem with 300 Win Mag???

longrange.270

Today I was reloading for my 300 WM. I zeroed my scale and set it for 64.5 grs of IMR4350. I dispensed some powder, weighed it, right dead on the line. I then poured the powder into the case and seated a bullet. Well when I seated the bullet i could hear, like the powder, getting crunched or something, when the bullet was almost fully seated. :( To me it seems like there isn't much of a gap in between the powder and the base of the bullet. I'm also using a Sierra Reloading Manual but using Hornady 208gr A-Max bullets. I have reloaded for my 300 WM before, but this time it was different. Seems like theres more powder in there then the other times. Oh and I've been reloading for about 2 months or so. :confused: If you guys/gals could help me out that would be great. Thanks longrange.270.

Its just a slightly compressed load. I wouldn't lose any sleep over it. Just depends on what cartridge/powder/bullet combo your using, but its quite common when using target bullets that take up quite a bit of space. Your not doing anything wrong, it is what it is.

Do you think I should knock the grains down a little?? So the only thing that is going to happen is that its just going to be a little hotter then normal??

You should not be compressing powder at 64.5 grains. I load 75 grains of RL22, 77 grains RL25 and have been up to 79 grains H1000. I am loading out to the lands so my bullet is not being seated very deep in the case, but even so I do not see how you are compressing powder at 64.5 grains.

You need to get some check weights and check your scale out. It would not be good if your scale is off and you are filling a 300 win mag case with IMR4350!!