Powder scales

bitbythebug

I'm sure I'm trodding ground that has been pounded into concrete but bare with me. I have been using a mechanical scale for 35 years but I don't think it is very accurate. I want to be able to trickle load with precise accuracy and I don't think my mechanical is doing that for me 1) because I can't get close SD on my chronograph and 2) I weighed my charge and divided into 7000 grains and it should have loaded 267 of 223 rem and it only loaded 247 so something isn't right. I want to get a new scale and am willing to pay several hunderd dollars if necessary. Are mechanical scales more repeatable and thus accurate than digital or are the digital scales outpacing mechanical capabilities?
What are the best scales priced under $500.00 . Thanks for any info.

I have been using the RCBS ChargeMaster 1500 since 2012... Great scale, as long as you recalibrate before each use...Which I think is considered pretty standard practice for all electronic scales.

What you are after is the GemPro 250
Precision scale with .02 of a grain accuracy vs. the .1 of a grain accuracy most other reloading scales are.
I use one and I have to pick between different size kernels of powder (N570) to get an exact charge.

What you are after is the GemPro 250
Precision scale with .02 of a grain accuracy vs. the .1 of a grain accuracy most other reloading scales are.
I use one and I have to pick between different size kernels of powder (N570) to get an exact charge.

I have the Lyman Gen 6 and Gempro 250, very nice and accurate system to have complimenting each other ... very pleased with it.

Have you had any trouble calibrating or getting it to read consistently

I have a chargemaster and a lyman powder dispenser. Neither are accurate enough for precision reloading but for just plinking ammo they are fine.

Now I use two gempro 250's sitting side by side. They do drift but are easy to reset. As long as both agree I am satisfied.