Please Help! Cheek Weld issues - me vs. stock

rexallen

I am fairly new to the sport and art of long range shooting and seem to be having issues getting a good cheek weld on my rifles. As background for my upcoming question, I have two 308s and am juggling around with three stocks that I own for them: a B&C A5 with adj. LOP and Cheek Height, a HS Precision take-off of a 700p, and the m24 style with adj. LOP. I also have and a new GAP 300 wsm riding in a McMillan with adj. LOP.

It seems to me like lots of stocks come without adjustable cheek height, although lots of them do too. When trying to figure out which set-up to use, I mount the barreled action cradling my Leu 6.5-20x50mm scope. When I put my comfortable cheek weld on each stock (with the exception of the B&C which height is adjustable), I cannot get a good weld and still be able to see through the scope!

It seems like I have to have my head almost floating (not good) in order to see clearly through my scope. With my head resting comfortably on each stock, my sight alignment is 1-2" too low.

QUESTION: Is it me not having the correct form, or is there something that needs to be done (like drilling into the stocks to add holes to house a base for some sort of makeshift spacer system)??

I have seen some videos where instructors have done just this and have emphasized having a good, solid, and repeatable cheek weld on the rifle. I am wondering why some higher end (i.e. McMillan, Manners, etc) stocks and chassis systems wouldn't have adjustable cheek rise? I just can't imagine drilling into (or grossly modifying) my $300 HS 700p stock, let alone my McMillan or others approaching $1,000+

Please shed some light and help end my frustration. And if I have misplaced this thread, please redirect.

Thank you!

In fewer words: