New to yote hunting, need tips for deep snow.

BitchinCamaro

This is the first year I've been fairly active in finding coyotes, and things were going well here in Central Utah until we got some heavy snow. There is about 3' of standing powder on the DWR lease where I've been gamecaming.

With this much snow, the deer are having a rough time getting down to graze, but there are still plenty of jackrabbits on the gamecams. I haven't seen any dog tracks in the snow for about a month, but I know that the area was thick with them only 2 months ago.

Do coyotes pick up and move out of areas entirely, or are they just holed up in the woods? Is there a winter strategy for drawing them out into a snowy field or do I just try to call them out like in fall?

Thanks for any advice.

Not that I am an expert coyote caller (I suck) but I do deal with lots of deep snow all winter.
They probably haven't left, but they will find it easier to move around in the thicker cedars and stuff where the snow isn't as deep, plus I would imagine some of the prey animals have also moved to areas with less snow in the woods.
Look for trails or areas that have a path packed down, from snowmobiles or something, or a wind swept creek bed. The dogs need to be able to get to the call, or at least close to it. 3 ft of fresh powder isn't easy moving for anybody.
We just got a decent dumping of snow, I will be going out tomorrow morning to see what's up.
There is a snowmobile trail that runs through a few of the properties I hunt, when the snow is soft the trails are covered in dog tracks. Once the snow hardens up they go back to going wherever they want. At least that's the way it seems to go for me up in Eastern Ontario.

No tracks means no coyotes. You need to go hunting to find what is going on. A really good coyote hunter needs really good boots. You will do more hiking than shooting to be effective on coyotes.
I live in Idaho now but I am from Utah.
PM me & I will send my phone # & we will chat.