New To Bow Hunting. Advice?

JP100

Hi there
I am considering getting a bow/crossbow. I have no experience with archery execpt having been on a few bow hunt with others. Any Advice on where to start? Brands to avoid/stick to? Anything would be of great help.

I suggest getting a left over or used bow in very good condition to make sure you will be able to enjoy your new experience. This is what I did with my first bow. I got a left over fred bear TRX 32 kitted out with everything I need from lancaster archery for 385. Then I bought me most recent bow which is a used 08 Bowtech Guardian from a very good friend for 500 bucks kitted out. With the price of new high end bows running from 650 to over 1000 dollars just for the bow without sight,rest,release,quiver,stabilizer,and arrows on a highed bow you could be 1500-1800 bucks deep before you even shoot an arrow. brands to stick with bowtech,diamond(a bowtech company), hoyt, pse, fred bear, mathews, mission archery(a mathews company), strother, elite archery. Check out archery talk forums very good info there

Andrew

Hey there thanks alot sounds good. yea the bows Ive looked at are 1000+ and I dnt know anything haha. Ile just keep my eye out for and second hand one. How would I find what draw length I will need? Im 5ft 11 but have pretty long arms haha
Thanks alot Joseph

What you need to do is stop by a bow shop in your area. Just let them know that you are looking into getting a bow and wanted to handle a few of them to see how they feel. They can also measure your draw length for you if you ask them too. Let them know what you are mainly going to hunt with it. Test out the different bows and see which one feels good in your hands. You dont have to have a 70# draw weight to be effective. I have known people that have taken elk with a 45# draw weight.