new set up, can i get thoughts?

rocknwell

hello all...i'm getting into long-range shooting/hunting for the first time (hunted for a few years but never shot anything beyond 200 yards). I also am looking for a rifle of my own so i don't have to borrow. I'm thinking i may be leaning toward a Remington 700 CDL in 7mm-08 with a Nikon Prostaff 3-9x40 BDC. since i'm new at the long range stuff and i'm on a more restricted budget, i figured this is probably one of the best ways to spend my money. can i get your opinions on this? i can shoot (Air Force-qualified "expert" and i've made a couple impressive-yet entirely lucky to be truthful-shots on deer), but my experience and knowledge with long-range is limited at best. i'm definitely trying to glean as much knowledge from this site as i can and going to put it to practice when i get back from the desert! thanks for your help!

micah

PS: i live in Rapid City, SD. since BH Ammo is right there and world renowned, i figured i'd try their ammunition since i don't reload (i want to get into though but i don't know where to start). any other ammunition suggestions? Thanks

7-08 is definitely a good round. If you do not reload, honestly, I would lean towards a 308. The 308 has some of the best "factory" type ammunition that a person can lay hands onto. I do not think there is another round out that has half the *GREAT* off the shelf choices. With the right ammo a 308 can either be a ***** cat, or a 500++ yard hunting hammer. As for match type shooting, a well set up 308 will do 1k easy enough.

Nikon makes good scopes for sure. Hope I don't catch hell...but in all honesty I would not go with a BDC. I would go with a Mil Dot scope, and learn to use the mil reticle. Once you figure out a mil reticle, it makes life a lot easier pretty much no matter what you are shooting at.

Nikon 4-16x42 Monarch Riflescope