New Lapua

Hard Head

Was finally able to go out with my new Savage 110 Elite in 338 Lapua, put a EC Tuner on it along with the 5x25 -34mm Vortex. Was using Lapua brass 285 Hornady and LRT powder started with 103 to 104.5grains ,shot 3 each for accuracy and 3 for velocity. Best load was 3.760 o/l grouped 1/2, 3 shot group and that 30" barrel was able to burn a lot of the LRT.104.5, averaged 2922 with a 4.2 S.D. Will play with the tuner and seating depth, one thing for sure is .............it moves ya,not sharp just a lot of Pushhhh!! Pete

No ,just the regular Lapua, I really like the savage ,but the stock on this thing is Awesome, sure wish I would have had this those 26 years I lived in Montana, there in eastern Montana, where I lived and worked in Billings as a Masonry Contractor I got to know a lot of ranchers, you could shoot for miles, but no one did. There is a lot of BLM land but you have to respect it ,there is always some who abuse it ,leave there trash, targets and drive off the road ,THAT is a No No. Pete

Same here on the regular chamber. I had high hopes for the LRT it just hasn't worked yet but that's the way it goes sometimes. I stopped at 102 grains. Had good speed just couldn't get a good group or acceptable ES. Sounds like you would've had plenty of room to stretch that Savage out in MT especially if you had rancher friends. It is a shame that a few morons can ruin everthing but happens everywhere.