Need some help with an up coming elk hunt

pburton

Ok here is the story. I have only been elk hunting 3 times in my life. I shot a bull about 6 years ago. I live in Nevada and have been putting in for bull elk tags for 14 years. I finally drew a bull tag. I have been hunting for 30+ years and have shot numerous deer. But this tag means a lot to me. The problem is that I have a custom rifle being built. It is a Rem 700 action and will be chambered in 300 win mag. This is a great round for elk, but it will not be finished until about two weeks prior to my elk season starting. This is seriously concerning me. I am not sure I will have the barrel broke in and a load developed in that time frame. If I could get to the range every day it might happen. But I have to work and have only maybe two days to get this accomplished. I don't see it happening.

So in the mean time I have two other rifles. But I am not sure that they are elk worthy. This is my question. I have a factory Tikka .270 wsm that shoots a little less than MOA. I have a great load with 150gr Partition that runs right at 3100 fps. The other rifle that I have is a 6.5x284 that runs 140gr Accubonds at 3/4 MOA pretty consistently.

I am not sure what to do. Should struggle to find a decent load for the 300 or should I go with what I know shoots well with the 270wsm or 6.5x284?

What would you do with a tag that you know you will not get for the next 10 years plus?

Thanks for any input!

If I were in your shoes I think I would use the 270 WSM and keep my shots within reason. Be prepared to fire follow up shots.

I know people who have taken Elk with the .270 Win. I agree that the 300 Win Mag is a great Elk round.

I would decide on max distance you would reasonably need to shoot. Hopefully that is within the capabilities of the 270 WSM or 6.5x284. Then use the one you have the most confidence in.