Need info on cal.

The Sac

Hello, I am new to this scene. Looking at a 7005r in 308 or 300win mag. which would be better built for 500 to 750 yard whitetail and elk kills. I do know I probably wont achieve a 750 yard elk kill with a 308. Which would be ok with me. But how is a 300win mag at that range. Graphs and charts don't always tell the story like people who've beat the brush and lived it. I would like to shoot longe range at paper to. Recoil shouldn't be a factor (I currently shoot a heavy 45-70 with hot rounds.) Any info would be greatly appreciated. I would like the accuracy of the 308, seems like a great round, and I know people try and scare you with recoil stories from a 300. So hard to decide. Thank you all. Go easy. I'm new. Thanks. I know bullet placement is important and the above mentioned yards are a work up to level. I plan on lots of practice. I hear the max range on a 308 is around 1000yards and 1400 ish on the 300. Could a elk shot to 700 even be possible with a 308. Or am I a dreamer. Thanks

Last edited:
Man, I gotta learn how to give an answer like that. No numbers, no controversy, completely tactfull, nothing but boom....splat. Loved the answer, and agree 100% with Derek M. Nuff said:D

I have the 700 5R in 308 and it is one of the best shooting, if not the best shooting gun I have. It honestly shoots .1's on its best days, and always less than .5's on its (or my) worst days. It is a great rifle for rock picking up to 1,000 yds. My personal opinion though is that it is marginal for long range work on elk at the ranges you mention. I can't speak from experience with shooting an elk at 750, my longest shot on a bull was 543, and that was with a 300 WM. I would think if you picked up a 5R in 300 WM, you would meet your expectations. Go big.

Warning! This thread is more than 14 years ago old.