My first rifle build - 338 Edge

Deezel

First a quick disclaimer. I am not a gunsmith. I am self taught but had quite a bit of help from a friend who is a licensed gunsmith. I didn't just buy a lathe and jump right into building rifles after watching a couple YouTube videos. It was not something that I took lightly and it's been a long haul to get where I'm at today. I started this quest 2.5 years ago with the thought of a bigger, long range rifle for Elk.

Last month I felt I was ready and was able to complete my first build. While I was learning, I ordered all the components for the build. Rifle was initially going to be a 338 Lapua but my friend talked me into a 338 Edge.
I was a little concerned about finding brass for it but have lucked out and now have 250 new RP and close to 400 once fired RP brass.

For the build;
STD spec Manson 338 Edge Reamer.
Stiller Predator action
Benchmark 5R Barrel with HV contour. I opted for the 1-9 twist rate. Finished at 28"
Calvin Elite trigger set at 1.5 pounds
Bell and Carlson M40 stock (had this already)
Remington 700 BDL bottom metal
Custom 5 port brake designed and built by my gunsmith friend with some input from me
Sightron SIII 6-24x50 with LRFFP/MH reticle
Burris XTR Signature rings

Here it is all put together. It weighs in at 14 pounds the way it looks. The action is not bedded to the stock yet. I was deciding if I wanted to keep the M40
on it or possibly change to a McMillan. The M40 is indeed growing on me so it will most likely stay.

338%20Edge2_zps0rdm23ex.jpg

33820Edge3_zpseturxexk.jpg

Here's a closer look at the brake. It needs a bit of refining but I'll tell you it sure works good! No problem shooting all day with it.

33820Brake_zpsyn5y1hj8.jpg

Here's the best grouping during load development. The hole with black marker around it was from a 7mm I was sighting in while the 338 was cooling.