My First Build: In details

Nice read, so how does it shoot ?

Unfortunately Shooting is waiting until after archery elk. I depart in 4 days. Taking 3 weeks off to head to Wyoming. This Bull Tag is 5 years in the making.

We'll update sometime after that.

Well I lied and took this one out to the range.

Below are some targets @ 100 yds with loads of 42.5-44.0 grains of H4350 loaded into the land apx .010 with BR4 primers in new brass puching 130gr Berger Hunting VLDs. Circles on the target are HALF INCH.

Like I said in my opening post, I am new to LR shooting but not to shooting. What this says to me is that when I do my part I don't think this rifle cares what I feed it!??! That is unless someone with a little more experience can say otherwise.

I shot round robin, 3 shot groups with the 5 charges. Tryied to give the barrel some rest time, but it probably got slowly warmer all day. The 5 shot group at 43 was actually with culled brass during weight sorting. It was all on the light end of my lot, but was all within a 1 grain window.

No pressure signs on brass, not even at 44.5grains.

I was happy with the results, especially given the situation and my experience at this. Shooting was on a bench on a bipod and rear bag, and I didn't like the wood bench, a concrete top would have been nicer. Wind was mostly <5mph maybe a gust to 10 but I probably didn't shoot during any of those. About 80-85 degrees at 70% humidity. I only fired 2 foulers on a clean barrel. I shot through the chorno but haven't looked at the string details yet; ballpark it shot 2750 to 2880fps over the range of loads with my Pro-Chrono. I changed the bipod height between the 1st and 2nd groups and was more comfortable on the first, but that is relative as I am always uncomfortable on a bench being 6'6" on benches/chairs built for more average humans.

Comments?

Liberty: There is No Greater Cause |