mossberg 30-06

legette11

Hey guys, new to this forum and not sure if this is really the right place to post this. I have a new mossberg 4x4 30-06. I got this gun as a gift and want to be able to make this an 800 yard gun. Im pretty new to seeing guns being built so I'm just curious as to what all i would need to accomplish this. I've heard that the 30-06 isnt the most desirable gun for long range shooting but it is capable. Sp what would you guys suggest. New trigger, good scope and good hand loads or even a new action? All your advice amd help is appreciated. Thanks everyone.

You will end up getting all kinds of opinions on this from "you need to rebarrel it to 7mm STW" to "you need to send it off to have the barrel replace, trigger replaced, stock replaced, and action replaced" :)rolleyes:). What you need to realize is that this is a budget (low cost) rifle and, like most cheaper things, are cheap for a reason. Does this mean it's not a good hunting rifle or junk? Not at all. Should you expect it to shoot like a match winning F class rifle? If you do you are probably setting yourself up to be disappointed. But if somebody gave me one as a present I would take it and shoot the crap out of it. Some of these lower priced rifles will flat out shoot! I have had several of the budget Savage rifles with the crappy wood stock growing up and all of them had great accuracy. I have a Marlin XL7 that I paid $150 for, I told myself to be happy if I could get 1" groups at 100 yards. The first load I shot through it was Lake City "factory" with 175 matchkings. It averages 3/4 moa...done! The only other load I can remember putting through it is some ball military rounds that I had pulled the bullets and seated a 150 grain Hornady SST into. It shoots just as well and makes for a really cheap hunting/practice round for my kids.