Mauser re-heat treat

benchracer

I have a VZ-24 action that tested soft when my gunsmith did his initial inspection. It is an otherwise very nice action and my smith feels that it is worth saving.

From what I have been able to find out, it looks like Blanchard's in Utah offers the heat treating services that I will need.

However, being a layman, I don't know a lot about the processes involved. I know that the type of heat treat that is needed is case hardening. My smith indicated that the current receiver hardness is only testing to about 25 and that it should test in the low 40's before he would consider it to be safe to use in a build.

When I discuss the work I need to have done, what should I be asking for? Should I send in the receiver only or would it be advisable to send in the bolt to be hardness checked, and possibly heat treated, as well?

I would appreciate advice from anyone with some experience dealing with heat treat issues related to the steels used in the older mil surp military rifles.

Is it financially viable ? A new Savage target action is about $500. A new custom action is just under $1000. A Shilen Barreled action is about $1800 although I don't know how the wait times are. The Shilen actions are made by Stiller.

The best thing you can do with your current action is to use it for a light caliber build. That way it would last a very long time without any costly (and potentially problematic) processes being needed. There is a significant chance of warpage occurring during heat treatment which could be very costly or impossible to remedy.