mange on yotes

jj338

hello, i called in a yote with mange if thats how you spell it well i was wondering if anone knows about it and if it is passed down through the blood stream and how often it occors.
Also i am new to howling what does it mean if you how and they answer but dont come in. i know nothing works every time but i would enjoy some help . thanks for helping

Mange is caused by mites and the female can actually burrow into the skin. It is seen mainly when the population gets too heavy in an area and that is one way that Mother Nature kills off the weaker ones. A dead one should not be handled because the mites can live on a human and cause real problems. I was just watching a guy on TV shoot coyotes and one he shot had lost almost half it's hair. He didn't even touch the thing, but dug a hole and buried it pretty deep, so other animals couldn't get at it and become infested. Coyotes have certain barks and howls they use to communicate and sometimes they will come in to that type of call, rather than an animal in distress call.

A little more mange info... It is species specific. The mites that cause mange on coyotes won't cause mange on humans or dogs. The mites may get on ya but they won't cause your hair to fall out. That said, I wouldn't touch one of the things either. They creep me out. :D If you listen to their conversations closely, the guys on Fast and Furious buried the mangey coyote so other coyotes wouldn't pick up the mites.