MagPro or N-165 for 338 Lapua?

MyTime

My last rifle purchase before I retire from the Army in a few months will be a Savage 110FCP 338 Lapua. I will hand load. I'm looking at the 225 grain Hornady SST to start off with. I have access to MagPro and N-165 and that is it...no Retumbo, no H1000, no IMR 4831, etc.

I am not new at reloading (10 years with 7mm mag, 308, 6.8SPC, 45-70, 223, 45, 10mm, 40 S&W) but I have zero experience reloading the 338 Lapua. I would like to learn from you before I make my purchase. Is one more consistent than the other? Is there something I should know?

Of these two powders is one a better choice than the other, and why?

Thank you!

MyTime

My hornady #9 says 81.7 to 92.7 for N-165 nothing for Magpro. My lee manual has data for a 250 and magpro 84 to 93. See if you can find data at Steve's reloading pages.

Good luck and shoot straight.

Bob

Thanks for the response Bob.

I have the Hornady reloading manual that lists N-165 loads from 2500 to 2900 fps. Since MagPro is available locally (and 2/3 the price of N-165) I looked it up from the MFGR. MagPro load data showed a range of 92.4 grains @ 2810 and up to 102.6 grains @ 3126 fps. Since these are the only two locally available powders. The goal, given the options available, is to pick the most consistent powder for accuracy.

I will hand load. I'm looking at the 225 grain Hornady SST to start off with.

Just curious why you chose a 225 grain for your 338 Lapua?

Everyone has their reasons and intended use. For long range 338 work my personal preference is a high BC bullet such as the Berger or SMK in 300 grain.

MMERSS,

Simple answer: I live 10 minutes from Midsouth Shooter Supply in Clarksville TN. The bullets and powder are available. When availability of components returns I'll have more options.